UM FST’s Associate Professor Invited to Be a Member of an Authoritative Domestic Bridge Committee

Yuen Ka-Veng, associate professor and head of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Faculty of Science and Technology, University of Macau (UM), has been invited to serve as a member on the Bridge Committee of the Mao Yi-sheng Science and Technology Education Foundation. Professor Yuen’s appointment was based on the recommendation by Professor Xu Gongyi, Deputy Director of China Zhongtie Major Bridge Reconnaissance & Design Institute Co., Ltd., and the vote by members of the Foundation. Professor Yuen’s research areas include structural health monitoring, reliability analysis and Bayesian methodologies. He has been serving on many national and international organizations, including the Computational Stochastic Mechanics Committee and System Identification and Structural Control Committee of the International Association for Structural Safety and Reliability, the Dynamics Committee and Probability Methods Committee of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and the Financial Analysis and Computation Committee of the Chinese Association for New Cross Technology in Mathematics, Mechanics and Physics.

Mao Yi-sheng Science and Technology Education Foundation was jointly established by the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Meeting (CPPCC) and the United Front Work Department (UFWD) of the Communist Party of China (CPC) Central Committee in 1991 in commemoration of Mr. Mao Yi-sheng, a distinguished scientist, educationist, social activist and founder of the modern bridge theory. The Foundation’s purpose is to support talents development, academic exchange and scientific knowledge dissemination as well as to reward individuals with distinguished achievements. Its mission is to promote China’s scientific, technological and educational development as well as the nurture of future scientific and technological talents. The Foundation offers 11 awards, including Bridge Award, Soil Mechanics Award and Geotechnical Engineering Award. Ever since its establishment, it has granted awards to over 1300 engineering technicians, teachers and students with outstanding achievements. The Mao Yi-sheng Bridge Award and Soil Mechanics Award are considered as the highest awards in China in recognition of individual achievements in the field of Civil Engineering. Organizational members of the Bridge Committee include dozens of ministries, commissions and departments such as CPPCC, UFWD of CPC Central Committee, the Jiu San Society, Ministry of Railways, Ministry of Communications, Ministry of Construction, and CAST. Individual members include many famous domestic and overseas engineering academicians such as Tang Man-chung, Xiang Haifan and Zeng Qingyuan, etc.

Caption: UM’s Associate Professor Yuen Ka-Veng from FST receives the Letter of Appointment

Release on 2009-06-30 11:47